Important note: Our Response to Covid-19: Together is best.
Further information

Story

Daniel Wehrli

I have been in the paint business for over 40 years. Originally as a painter and decorator, later as an application engineer, today as a sales representative. As Key Account Manager, I am the main contact person, adviser and salesman in one. I enjoy this – the diversity, the variety, no two days are the same. And of course the contact with people.

Thirty percent of my job consists of talking, seventy percent listening. That may surprise you at first. But I want to understand exactly what my customers’ concerns are, so that I can give them an appropriate answer. I see myself first of all as an adviser, and only then as a salesman. And a windy «gasbag» wouldn’t last long in our company anyway! Quite the opposite: It’s so true that less is often more. Getting your marching orders to turn up four times a year with your samples case and brochures? That is outdated and certainly won’t work these days. Of course you have to keep in touch, but not be insistent – though always ready to react when someone has a question, a problem, or an order.

Every one of our customers is different. Different in his area of activities, different in his company culture, so I need to be very flexible. On the other hand I always learn something new when I get involved with a customer and his projects. As with all business relationships, one particular aspect is very important in sales, and that is trust.

Promising someone the blue from the sky is not my style. Nevertheless, my favourite color is of course blue!

Your contacts in Switzerland

More stories

Wichtiger Hinweis: Unsere Antwort auf Covid-19: Gemeinsam geht’s am besten.
Mehr Informationen

Story

Daniel Wehrli

Ich bin seit über vierzig Jahren im Farbengeschäft unterwegs. Anfänglich als Maler, später als Anwendungstechniker, heute bei Monopol im Verkaufsaussendienst. Als Key Account bin ich zentrale Ansprechperson, Berater und Verkäufer in Personalunion. Das gefällt mir – die Vielfalt, die Abwechslung, dass kein Tag gleich ist wie der andere. Und natürlich der Kontakt mit den Menschen.

Dreissig Prozent meines Jobs bestehen aus Reden. Siebzig Prozent aus Zuhören. Das mag vielleicht erstaunen, so auf den ersten Blick. Aber ich will eben ganz genau verstehen, was die Anliegen meiner Kundschaft sind, um ihr dann die passende Lösung zu präsentieren. Ich sehe mich denn in erster Linie als Berater, erst in zweiter als Verkäufer. Und als windiger «Schnurri» kämen sie in unserem Geschäft sowieso nicht weit! Im Gegenteil: Weniger ist häufig eben mehr. Viermal jährlich gemäss Marschbefehl mit Köfferli und Prospekt beim Kunden auftauchen? Das ist unzeitgemäss, funktioniert garantiert nicht mehr. Natürlich, Sie müssen Kontakt halten, aber nicht aufdringlich – dafür stets auf Empfang sein, wenn jemand eine Frage, ein Problem, eine Bestellung hat.

Jeder Kunde von Monopol ist individuell. Individuell in seinem Tätigkeitsfeld, individuell in seiner Betriebskultur. Das erfordert von mir viel Flexibilität. Auf der anderen Seite lerne ich stets auch etwas dazu, wenn ich mich mit dem Gegenüber und seinen Projekten beschäftige. Wie bei jeder Geschäftsbeziehung geniesst auch im Verkauf ein konkreter Punkt einen ganz besonders hohen Stellenwert: Das Vertrauen.

Das Blaue vom Himmel versprechen? Das ist nicht mein Ding. Trotzdem, meine Lieblingsfarbe ist natürlich Blau!

Ihre Ansprechpartner in Fislisbach

Weitere Stories